Arc review// Firebolt by Adrienne Woods (rant review)

 

20517266

 

Author: Adrienne Woods

Published: Published on 01 Jun 2016  by  Publisher Fire Quill Publishing

Number of Pages: 306 pages

Dragons. Right. Teenage girls don’t believe in fairy tales, and sixteen-year old Elena Watkins was no different.
Until the night a fairy tale killed her father.
Now Elena’s in a new world, and a new school. The cutest guy around may be an evil dragon, a Prince wants Elena’s heart, and a long dead sorcerer may be waking up to kill her. Oh. And the only way Elena’s going to graduate is on the back of a dragon of her own.
Teenage girls don’t believe in fairy tales. Now it’s time for Elena to believe – in herself

Elena Watkin’s (a special little snowflake) life is turned upside down.Will she be able to handle the pressure or will it all crumble? Plus fricking dragons!

*This book was provided via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

Zeus’s beard! I’m not usually the most critical person when it comes to books but for the love of fricking blueberries this sucked. The main character is Elena a whiny, shallow, self centered and pathetic cry baby who obviously  needs constant praise and self assurance. Elena loses her dad and is thrown into this whole other world on the other side of the wall where there are dragons and magic and all that fun crap. She is of course a special little snowflake *eye roll* because she has a dark mark AND a dragon father and what not. Shoot me😊 🔫. Her situation is at first understandable, she just lost her dad and all that crap. But she continually talks about herself and is always in tears but not even because of her loss. It was for trivial little things that didn’t actually matter

  • Dragons are real – Wah  wah
  • I suck at my classes – Wah wah
  • The viden insulted me – Wah wah
  • My class schedule is changed – Wah wah
  • Arianna doesn’t think my boyfriend and I are soul mates – Wah wah
  • My life is actually going well this week – Wah fricking wah

200 (1)

Elena this, Elena that! She was really immature and blushed even at the mention of the word ‘sex’. I mean come on!

So, what, you blush every time someone says ‘sex’?

-Lucian to Elena (During Lunch time)

She was so dramatic about everything and I would just stare at the page like so what ? I couldn’t relate with her and honestly if she died I wouldn’t give two shits.

A78hliw.gif

The characters were all really static and two dimensional. The secondary characters  were the most uninteresting group ever. There was the sidekick best friends, The prince charming ( no lie he’s a prince) and the mysterious bad boy. They were all sickeningly perfect and unrealistic. The relationships between them was flat and frankly uninteresting and formed too quickly. The second day in school and she had found her best friend for life and her boyfriend all because of a few looks passed during lunch time, smh. 

We can be BFFs. But Becky comes with the package, no exceptions.

-Sammy to Elena ( The first day they met.)

Everything just felt rushed.

The romance was summed up with little lines like; He is so Hot or We kissed for a long time. She’s such a shallow bitch. Ugh. There was no proper description of him at all.

Also the story was told but not showed. Like every time something happened (very few times😊🔫) we weren’t there for it we were told about it. The so called perfect boyfriend was a controlling little narcissist who is so full of pride it’ll make you want to scream.

You can go but one condition

-Lucian to Elena (When she wanted to go to the museum with Cheng) . Who said she wanted your permission?!

 And honestly he kept slapping her ass and it made me so fricking uncomfortable.

I swear if ANY guy, no matter how “hot” they are, slaps my ass I’m gone. But of course she doesn’t mind because she’s a shallow creep. Also don’t get me started with how he kept calling her sweetheart. Every fricking sentence.

 

giphy

The whole book was pointless. It all felt like it was building up to something but in the end we were left with a dumb little quest that I honestly didn’t think she was up for because the lack of character development was astounding. She was the same whiny prick all through out the book. Just a little dumber.

tumblr_inline_nysv7wQKUe1qiw3az_500

The days passed by with little lines like; Monday morning was a blur, Or when Friday finally came Or Sunday nothing much happened. More examples of the author telling but not showing. And each day would go into such silly little things like how everyone glared at her because obviously the world envied her.

They were really petty and would get vexed for stupid things. Then I would get vexed.

 

If you ask me what actually happened in the book I won’t have much to say because nothing really happened. We were mostly reading about her life. The world had so much potential and in theory this should’ve been great but the lack of world building was the biggest downfall. The lack of description of their surroundings left me feeling like they were all living in a huge white blank space floating in the air. I couldn’t picture anything. I don’t even know what Elena looks like but she has to be pretty because every girl in the book kept fucking glaring at her out of envy.

The writing had a lot of grammatical errors and normally I wouldn’t notice these things but seriously😊🔫.

This book is for anyone who wants to lose hair. Because trust me I did a lot if hair pulling. It was a good enough plot the book just needed a bit more editing. The book did have its good moments and I did finish it (I was so close to dropping it when she said for the love of blueberries for the trillionth time).Definitely this was the best dragon book I’ve read maybe because its the only dragon book I’ve ever read.

Am going to read the next book? Hell yeah. Will I finish it? I Don’t know, honestly wish me luck.

Deuces,

 B

image

We miss you already! Find us here.

Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram

 

One thought on “Arc review// Firebolt by Adrienne Woods (rant review)

Keep the conversation going...

