Book Review//P.S. I like you by Kasie West

 

 

P.S. I Like You

 

Author: Kasie West

Published: Published July 26th 2016 by Point

Number of pages: Hardcover, 330 pages

My rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟

 

While spacing out in chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds that someone has continued the lyrics on the desk and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters—sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only, who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…

Lily is our main character. Lily is awkward and is so not mainstream as she would say. She is ‘quirky’ and has a funny enough personality to carry us through this story effectively. As the book continues you learn about her really weird personality and half the time you just want to hug her and say ‘oh honey’. She often feels like she is just looking in from outside a feeling most people can relate to. She drowns herself in music which is the only way she finds peace.

I know. I’m the only one who understands me.

I know Lilly, I know.
Lily is surrounded by all these amazing people. I just wish we got to learn more about them.
Isabel is Lilly’s best friend and she comes up often but we still don’t know much about her which is disappointing. It’s almost like she exists just to help Lily. Same with many of the secondary characters in this book. The little I do know about Isabel I did love. She was kind and understanding .. a bit unrealistically understanding.

Other characters would include Lily’s family who are entertaining and play a key role in this story. They were a really interesting bunch. I liked that they played a huge role in Lilly’s life. She did have a few ( a lot) of complaints about them but ultimately she did love them. It was disappointing that we didn’t get to learn more about them. Lily was definitely interesting enough to still make this book very entertaining.
The characters do have points for being totally awesome and supportive and making this book a whole lot more fun. Her family was amazingly cute and cliched and wonderful. And gush.
The character development of Lily specifically is awesome. She is so relate-able. The pen pal relationship is a good way to learn about Lily and watch her be her self because on paper she is real. I do like that she is different from most contemporary characters she is witty, sarcastic and a bit cynical.

The book is very slow in pace and I found myself reading just to get to the climax which was a bit of a flop. Nothing particularly wonderful happened but it was all still entertaining which speaks for Kasie wests writing style which is fun, light and enjoyable. The book flows really well and I actually laughed a lot and was extremely giddy. There I was at 2 am giggling like crazy.

We have three love interests in this book but you can see from a mile away who is going to get the girl in the end. It’s just all so cliched but its sweet. Thank god for the lack of a love triangle and overly mushy scenes.

The plot starts immediately with the first sign off to mystery boy in chemistry class. While spacing out in chemistry class (can relate) Lily writes down a song lyric. A mysterious person replies which is crazy because Lily listens to the oddest songs so its faith really. The mystery doesn’t stay that way though because we find out soon enough who it is, but what is Lily to do? Although the plot isn’t anything amazing or remarkable Kasie west does it well.

It is all very predictable and because the book wasn’t that plot heavy I found myself getting bored. Most of it felt like a filler and as I said I was just waiting for something to happen most of the time. The whole book could have ended very quickly and it felt like it was just being dragged out. The ending just came to a conclusion we all knew already.

The romance I guess that also speaks for Kasie Wests writing style because she still managed to keep me reading. She is definitely a competent writer. Although the letters were cute you can’t ignore that the dialogue is stiff at times and it was funny but forced and just plain awkward.

I did enjoy reading this book aside from the flat characters and the just okay plot. I will try other Kasie west books definitely. It did meet most of my expectations. I was looking for a cute, light read and this book was all of that. Its also set in sunny Arizona, I was so jealous when she described the sunny days she had because here in Ireland it is anything but sunny, mostly.

This book although unmemorable is a quick lighthearted read. It’s full of adorb moments that you’ll love and appreciate.

Deuces,

B

11 thoughts on “Book Review//P.S. I like you by Kasie West

Keep the conversation going...

