My response to SOME of the crazy things I’ve heard Non-booklovers say.

There are two types of people in this world:

The people who read

&

The others

Us bookworms often don’t feel understood among the sea of non believers. When we’re raving, ranting or occasionally (often) screaming we never really feel  heard … they just don’t get it. That’s why we have to stick together with our kind to avoid hearing ludicrous rubbish like the following.

Lets Go (1).png

Toss me that book… I’ll  catch it

 

I’ll ‘catch’ it…  God, no! Let’s forget the fact that I have terrible aim and it’ll probably end up smack in the middle of your face BUT what about the book (!!!) seriously. Goshdammit.

Here are a list of things that shouldn’t be ‘tossed’:

  • Babies
  • Phones
  • Knives
  • Balls
  • BOOKS

It’s just a book

Wait. Gimme a second. JUST a book. 

stupid (1).gif

If it was just a book what are all these emotions. These emotions are real. What I’m feeling is real so just STOP! pfft

You read too much

How can you even read too much. You can read too little. You can read less. You can read more. You can read MUCH more. But too much…WHAT?

Here is why you can’t possibly read too much: 

Google says there are 129,864,880 books in the world. Furthermore, Wikipedia says that about 2.2 million books are published each year.

129,864,880

If there are that many books in the world how can you possibly READ TOO MUCH. *scoffs* *drops the mike*

Honestly, what’s the point of reading the books… just watch the movies

I would just watch the movies if I wanted a lesser-dumbed down version of the books, yeah, sure I’d JUST WATCH THE MOVIE. But I like the good things in life i.e books, books and MORE books.

Nerd

If a nerd spends as much time as possible reading, or talking about what their reading then sure.

I’M A NERD.

week-in-review-james-franco-gifs-nerd.gif

There are so many pages

No there aren’t so many pages. Gosh. When your reading you aren’t counting the pages. TRUST ME. If it’s a good book it doesn’t matter.

There are no good books” 

Wait so hold up. When did you become Lord of books. Why do you decide whether there are any good books left in this world. If anything I should. The crown on my head isn’t just there. I am Queen of the books… And I say there are plenty books out there.

Hey so.. what’s your favourite book?

This sounds like a fair question but it is actually evil. I am expected to CHOOSE. Would you make someone choose their favourite child. No! My books are my babies. Mama  loves all her babies. But hey if you want a recommendation just ask… GEEZ.

 “You don’t need any more books

raw.gif

Haha okay gimme a second to compose myself. That’s funny. Hilarious really. Because my shelves think differently. THEY WANT THE BOOKS. I just go with it.

I’m just not a reader

That’s why I’m here! To convert poor, lost souls and show them the light. Gosh, let me do my  job! *Shoves a book in face*

It can’t be THAT good

Well it is if I say so because I am Queen (as I said) so bow down (or just read my recommendations) Seriously though my recommendations will rock your world!

Lets Go (3).png

What absolutely mental things have you heard ‘the others’ say? Thoughts on people who just don’t read? Do you honestly have a favourite book… if so how do you even choose? Share please!

love

 

image

We miss you already! Find us here.

Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram | Blog

 

 

37 thoughts on “My response to SOME of the crazy things I’ve heard Non-booklovers say.

  1. LOL, when you say ‘the others’ I immediately think of ‘the others’ from Lost 😀 .
    I’ve heard all of this throughout the years and I don’t think these ‘others’ will stop anytime soon. Oh, and another favorite of mine (not really) is “you’re so boring! All you do is read!” Like I’d want to do anything else!
    Love this post! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  2. YESSSS LOVED THIS POST! The sentence “it’s just a book” infuriates me so much tbh hahaha they don’t understand that it;s NEVER just a book 😂😂 also yes with “you have too many books”. One can never have enough books hahaha there’s also this, every time I complaint for not having more space to put my books on, people (especially) my parents casually say “then stop buying books” I mean… that’s not even an option?hahaha 😛

    Liked by 2 people

  3. My favorites are usually related to how long it takes me to read a book.
    “You read that book in 4 hours? No way! Do you even remember what it was about?” Ummm… yeah. I read the book. Just because I read fairly quickly doesn’t mean I don’t absorb the material.

    I also love when I talk to non readers and they decide to calculate the last time they read a book. As if it is some kind of trophy. “I haven’t read an entire book since I graduate high school. That was…. 12 years ago.” I always tell them that must really suck and recommend something to break their extended slump.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. LOVED THIS! Lauging the whole way through, XD.
    Here’s me FANGIRLING over some AMAZING book, screaming out, even crying and ‘the other’s are just like ‘It’s just a book’. WHO THE HELL DO YOU THINK YOU ARE?
    Oh and the one that annoys me so much is “I’m just not a reader“.
    HELLO. EVERYONE, DEEP IN THEIR HEART, MUST LOVE BOOKS. You must join our faith, let me convert your first.
    Excellent job…

    Liked by 3 people

Keep the conversation going...

