Book Review// Before I fall by Lauren Oliver .. what the actual f**k (rant)

6482837

Author: Lauren Oliver

Published: Published October 25th 2010 by HarperCollins (first published March 2nd 2010)

Number of pages: Paperback, Enhanced Edition, 470 pages

My rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟

With this stunning debut novel, New York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver emerged as one of today’s foremost authors of young adult fiction. Like Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why and Gayle Forman’s If I Stay, Before I Fall raises thought-provoking questions about love, death, and how one person’s life can affect so many others.

For popular high school senior Samantha Kingston, February 12—”Cupid Day”—should be one big party, a day of valentines and roses and the privileges that come with being at the top of the social pyramid. And it is…until she dies in a terrible accident that night.

However, she still wakes up the next morning. In fact, Sam lives the last day of her life seven times, until she realizes that by making even the slightest changes, she may hold more power than she ever imagined.

Named to numerous state reading lists, this novel was also recognized as a Best Book of the Year by Amazon.com, Barnes & Noble, The Daily Beast, NPR, and Publishers Weekly. It has been optioned for film by Fox 2000 Pictures.

Supports the Common Core State Standards.

(It’s M… it’s been a while since I’ve posted. B, has done most of the work. That’s why the tone of voice may see different than usual .. haha.)

WARNING THERE WILL BE SPOILERS. LOTS OF THEM. AND CURSING TOO.

 

I MEAN LIKE  ENOUGH CURSING TO MAKE A MOTHERFUCKING SAILOR BLUSH (I did warn you)

 

NO SERIOUSLY IF YOU HAVENT READ THE BOOK DO NOT READ THIS FUCKING REVIEW

 

I’M SERIOUS GUYS LEAVE WHILE YOU CAN

 

OK for those of you that are still here and have read this book please join me in saying WHAT THE FUCK? WHAT THE ACTUAL FUCK? I’m so angry. Like I’m fuming. Like so angry my insides feel like they’re about to explode.

Fuck you book. Fuck you Oliver. Fuck you fuck you fuckfuckfuckfuckfufck fuckity fuck fuck. ARGH. I had such high hopes guys. After reading the first few paragraphs I was honest to God smiling and nodding my head because all I could think was “OMG a book that isn’t about a girl that’s the nicest fucking ray of sunshine.” I thought I saw exactly how this book would end. Juliet would be saved, Sam would become a better person having learned her lesson and her and Kent would go off riding into to the sunset or whatever the fuck characters do after a book ends. Some kind of Groundhog Day shit. I was expecting this. And I was looking forward to it. I wanted that happy ending. But nope, nope she stays dead. Like no joke. Like she doesn’t survive. Like no do-overs for Sammy. ARGH FUCK YOU OLIVER.  I’m literally banging my head against the wall.

I get it. I do. Sam sacrificed herself for Juliet. She is no longer trying to help because it’s her way out. No she becomes a martyr.  And I’m so angry. I mean sure Juliet is better off. Maybe. BUT SAM IS DEAD. What about all the people that loved her? All her friends and family? What about Izzy? Did Oliver think about sweet little Izzy who will no doubt be traumatised? What about her parents? What about her best friends? No matter how mean they were THEY LOVED SAM? WHAT ABOUT KENT? Poor sweet Kent who is forced to watch as the girl he’s been in love with for God knows how long is killed. Right in front of him. The worse part is they don’t remember the good days she had with them. Izzy doesn’t remember the trip to Goose Point. Kent doesn’t remember their first kiss(the one after third grade). Their last memories of her would be of her rushing out of the house after saying I love you which they haven’t heard in “years” (not true as she’s said it in the last seven days they just don’t remember!$%^&@) They have no idea that she changed.

It’s so stupid. I see why Oliver does it though. For some reason in book world death makes the book have some deeper meaning. Like look at how much ‘meaning’ my book has because someone died.

Well do you know what I think? I think it would have been much better if Sam had survived and lived to face the consequences of her actions. It would have been better if she continued to be nice to Juliet even AFTER Cupid day. If she had stood up for her publicly when her friends were bullying her and not just spoken to her privately in a bathroom. It would have been better to see how Sam would handle the social suicide that would come with dating Kent and if she would pursue a friendship with Anna. All I’m saying is that for Sam death was the easy way out. She wouldn’t have to deal with any of this. For her the greatest test would have come after February 12th. Her death, in my opinion was just a really fucking shallow way to end the book in order to make people “think”

The absolutely worst part about this book is I can’t rate it anything less than what I gave it because it was a good book. A really good book. It’s just that damn fucking ending. *sigh*

Fuck you Oliver.

love

image

We miss you already! Find us here.

Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram

10 thoughts on “Book Review// Before I fall by Lauren Oliver .. what the actual f**k (rant)

  1. Okay, this is on my TBR, so I didn’t read your review. I saw the spoiler alert (THANK YOU!) and skipped down here. Thanks for the heads up on that! Only three stars, I see… but the premise sounds so good! Can you give me a brief sentence or two about why three stars without any spoilers? I’m curious if I should hold off or not…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sensing you have some strong emotions here…It’s been a really long time since I read this book and like you, I was hoping for that happy ending. It’s true, the protagonist’s character development kind of felt like a waste with that ending. Appreciate your thoughts!

    Like

  3. I FEEL YOU ON ALL OF THIS!!!!!
    Sure Sam sacrifices herself for Juliet and dies which is in a way the ultimate punishment for what a bitch she was to everyone before but it feels like she just got the easy way out?? I wanted to actually see her stand up for Juliet in more ways than this? Also, KENT AND HER WONDERFUL FAMILY GET NO CLOSURE AT ALL! The end was just soooo frustrating >.<

    Liked by 1 person

Keep the conversation going...

