Lessons Learned… Why I became a blogger and why you should become one too

Here on ‘Closet Readers’ we believe in learning from each other and we are inviting you to come share with us the lessons you’ve learnt. If you would like to be a guest on our blog and share something you’ve learnt now or in the near future (this is a permanent feature) find more information here Lessons Learned Help and FAQ.

I’m so happy to have Rachel from Rachel Poli sharing a few of the good things about blogging.

Untitled design (3).png

First, I want to give a huge thanks to Closet Readers for giving my work some space on their blog. It’s much appreciated and I’m happy to be here!

When I agreed to write a post for their “Lessons Learned” series, I had no idea what to write about. I agreed because I could come up with something eventually. I mean, we learn something new every day, right? But still, I had a hard time coming up with something meaningful and worthwhile to share with everyone.

I finally decided to talk about my blogging experience. I have really learned a lot in the past almost-five years and in that time, blogging has changed my life.

Sure, that sounds a bit over the top, but it’s true. And I’m more than happy to explain why.

moving-on

I started blogging on January 1, 2012. I always liked beginning new things on the first of January because there’s that whole sense of “new year, new me” or whatever. I began a called titled Spilled Ink on Blogspot and the reason I did this was because I wanted more exposure for my writing.

download.png

I want to be a full-time writer someday (soon, hopefully) and I heard that a great way to get your name and writing out there was to start a blog. So, why not? How hard could it be?

Well, actually blogging is pretty hard, but if you love it, it doesn’t seem so.

Anyway, I blogged until about January 14, 2012. Then I stopped. I got out of my groove of posting once a day. I ran out of things to talk about. No one was really reading my blog (yes, I know it was only 14 days…), so what was the point? At the time, I didn’t realize blogging wasn’t something happened overnight. Everyone is on the Internet all the time, so why weren’t people coming across my blog? I was talking to a wall and I had nothing interesting to say anyway.

My sister then suggested I try WordPress.

wordpress-logo-stacked-rgb

So, in May 2012 I revamped Spilled Ink on WordPress. Now, here I am, nearly five years later. I have over 3,000 followers, a good amount of daily views per day, I post every day with short stories, writing prompts, tips, and advice, and book reviews. Other bloggers guest on my site, I interview authors, and authors reach out to me about reviewing their books. I have a good system going and I couldn’t be happier. Oh, and I’ve also made a ton of great new friends.

Of course, none of this happened over night. I really had to work hard to get my blog to where it is now and I’m still working towards new goals for my blog each and every day.

I may have started in May 2012, but my blog didn’t really kick up until January 2015. For 2012, 2013, and 2014, I posted whenever I wanted. There was no schedule, I had no niche. Sure, the blog was supposed to help with my writing, but half of my posts were about me complaining about my homework. The other posts were about me basically saying, “I should write, but I don’t feel like it.” Then I would complain when I had nothing done.

Boring, right? Not to mention whiny.

At the end of 2014 I decided I was going to be a “real” blogger. I thought of features for my blog such as Short Story Sunday, where I post short stories on my blog every Sunday. I started posting everyday. I also started reading and commenting on other blogs regularly.

2015 was a good year. Because of that I thought of bigger and better ways to make my blog better in 2016. 2016 was better than 2015. In December 2016 I thought of more brand new goals for my blog and, being only two months into 2017, so far this year has been much better than 2016.

Blogging is fun and it’s a hobby, but it can also become a business, depending on what you’re blogging about. I originally started because I wanted more exposure for my writing. By treating my blog as more than a hobby, I’ve come so far. And I’m just telling you this to toot my own horn (though I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t proud of all I’ve accomplished), but I’m telling you this that this is something you can do as well, if it’s what you want.

I started blogging because I wanted more exposure and experience for my writing and I’ve received that. I’ve worked with authors and publishers alike on book reviews, guest posts, and interviews. I met so many great friends who are readers, writers, or just other fellow bloggers that have different niches. But they’re all supportive and encouraging, and it’s great to have that group of friends that understands who you are and what you’re trying to do, even if they are virtual through the computer.

So, to make a long story short (despite it already being long)…

Blog to get experience in what you’re passionate about. Blog to make new friends in what you’re passionate about. Blog if you want to learn something new.

But most of all, blog because you love it.

lets-talk

Why do you blog? Any tips of your own? Do you relate with Rachel’s experience? What are your thoughts on daily posting?

 

Want more? Find Rachel here.

Blog | Twitter | Bookstagram | Pinterest | Goodreads | Double Jump

 

 

35 thoughts on “Lessons Learned… Why I became a blogger and why you should become one too

  1. Great post! Thanks for sharing your experiences, Rachel! I’m impressed with your dedication– congrats on almost 6 straight years of blogging! That’s a big deal. I appreciate how you shared your trials and tribulations. I think the most important lesson here is that you don’t become a well-known blogger overnight. It takes time, effort, and hard work.

    Thanks for hosting this series, M&B! I look forward to reading more, and being a participant at some point! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post!
    I started blogging well.. well because I was bored. It was another summer away from school, and it was just one of those days that I was “bleh”. And I’ve always wanted to write a blog, but I guess that being bored fueled the fire just a bit more. So on July 25, 2016 I created my blog, as well as posted my first blog post on there.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s great! Honestly, being bored isn’t a bad start to blogging. A lot of people blog as a hobby and do it because they have a lot to say and are really passionate about certain topics. As long as you enjoy it, that’s all that matters. 🙂
      Thanks for reading. I’m glad you enjoyed the post!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. wonderful post!! I only recently started a blog, November 2016 and it has already been an amazing experience, lots of work, and an absolute joy. It takes quite a junk of time out of my day. Blogging asks for dedication – at least that’s my experience. I have some goals for later, but at the moment it’s all about reaching out and connecting for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed the post!
      It really is a lot of hard work, especially when you’re just starting out. If you have a passion and dedication for it, then it doesn’t seem like a chore. It’s a fun hobby even if you’re doing it for business purposes. 🙂 It’s funny, there’s a lot I didn’t know about blogging when I first started. I just thought, “how hard could it be?”
      Good luck with your blog and thanks again for reading!

      Liked by 2 people

Keep the conversation going...

