Mini review// Milk and honey by Rupi Kaur in which I share some of the poems

praise

Her words reached deep inside me and strummed on my emotions like a harp.

Megan, bookslayerreads

I was so surprised as to how much I LOVED milk and honey and how much I interacted with it on a personal level.

Mortal Reader

praise-1

But the poems kinda sucked.

Rose Read

Didn’t pack as much of a punch as I would have liked.

Miss abigail

23513349Rating: 🌟 🌟 (2.5 stars)   

Reading time: 1 day ( less than an hour!)

Paperback: 204 pages
Published: November 4th 2014 by Createspace
milk and honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. It is about the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity. It is split into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose, deals with a different pain, heals a different heartache. milk and honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.

moving-on

Milk and honey is a book of poems through these poems Rupi Kaur attempts to tackle strong topics like 

Feminism

636067395667035301759179419_635993568516815353-1410017524_tumblr_n48x2itIXG1sn0z5fo1_1280

17482478._SY540_

Self love

76bb310e3fd33381a5c68109bd51ada5

1cbd62e8cca05c54f6d295ea8a50d734

Relationships

7a5fbdcee3f0aa46f54a72cfe0668b07

a195106e77478a3324b25dca371765e7

 Violence, abuse,  loss, and more.

my-thoughts

The book follows a woman throughout different chapters of her life right from the breaking to the healing asking questions worth answering about oneself throughout. 

We get a very clear idea of the woman’s background and the hardships she’s endured and we watch her heal herself. We are made to learn from her experiences. 

It is short but sweet and it definitely hits home,  Rapi kaur left her mark.

Although some of the poems in the book were extremely underwhelming and seemed

Like

Simple text

Written in weird

Format like 

This 

It was still

Enjoyable

A majority of the poems felt like filler poems and there was a lot of repetition of poems in the collection. Repeating the stronger points definitely makes them more impactful and strengthens the message in our minds but it did make for a tiring read. 

Although it is a book of poems it is definitely still a story. There is a beginning, middle and end. There is a protagonist and antagonist, a plot point etc. I wouldn’t call the poems, poems either as they are just words of wisdom written poetically or even just stated but I appreciate them nonetheless. 

 loveb-signature

image

We miss you already! Find us here.

Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram | Blog | Pinterest

9 thoughts on “Mini review// Milk and honey by Rupi Kaur in which I share some of the poems

  1. Thank you for linking to my review 🙂 I love how you formatted your review… adding in pieces of the poetry. And I have to agree with you… about simple words being written in weird format… I think I would have felt the same way had I read it myself. But since I listened to it on audio, I think that made a huge difference in how I ended up feeling about it, and understanding it. I’m not a huge fan of poetry. But I think when I choose to read poetry again, I’ll make sure to listen to it. Nice review!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Keep the conversation going...

